Established in 2000, the Victor Rosskopf Award honors judges who embody the highest qualities of judicial professionalism and ethics.  The award honors the memory of the late Judge Victor Rosskopf, a longtime member of the NAALJ Board and its Treasurer.  The award is bestowed no more than once annually; and there was no award given in 2006, 2010, 2013, or 2020. 

The Victor Rosskopf Achievement Award Committee is accepting nominations for the Award until August 10, 2021. Nominations should be submitted by email to the chair of the committee, Steve Wise, at

CLICK HERE to review the Rosskopf Award Guidelines. CLICK HERE to download a form that can be completed and attached to the email to submit a nomination for the Award.

Committee Chair

Hon. Steve Wise (Ret.), Montana


Hon. Cathy Bennett (Ret.), New York

Hon. Claudia Crichlow, D.C. 

Hon. Peter Loomis (Ret.), New York

Hon. Gabe Paul, Indiana

Past Recipients of the Rosskopf Award:

2000 Victor Rosskopf (Missouri)

2001 Arthur A. Gladstone (Nevada)

2002 Sammie Chess (North Carolina)

2003 John Hardwicke (Maryland)

2004 Stanley J. Cygan (Illinois)

2005 Janet C. Raider (Kentucky)

2007 Edward Schoenbaum (Illinois)

2008 Julian Mann, III (North Carolina)

2009 Larry J. Craddock (Texas)

2011 Duane Harves (Minnesota)

2012 Peter Loomis (New York)

2014 Shelia Bailey Taylor (Texas)

2015 Margaret Giovanniello (New York)

2016 Steve Wise (Iowa)

2017 Tyrone Butler (Washington DC/New York)

2018 Cathy Bennett (New York)

2019 Lynette Donner (Iowa)

© Copyright 2021 National Association of Administrative Law Judiciary 

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software